What’s the point?

One of my favorite activities is to have students draw a point on a paper and see how many distinct lines they can draw through the point.  I usually set it up as a competition to see who can get the most lines inside of 15 seconds or so.  On your mark, get set, GO! Pencils start flying.

line through one point

Then to bring the lesson home, I say, “Alright, flip the paper over and put two points on the page.  Now we’re gonna see who can get the most lines through both points.” 

Ready, set, GO!

They get the first line fast.  Then they panic as they move the ruler and pencil searching for that elusive second line.  Most of ’em end up looking something like this:

confused look

I tease them a bit and we all get a good chuck out of it. I know, I know.  It’s not nice to take advantage of these trusting impressionable children.  But I don’t care who you are, that thar’s funny!

 

And, they never forget it.

12 Responses to “What’s the point?”


  1. 1 Matt Townsley September 2, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Outstanding! Who would’ve known that “two points determine a line.” 🙂 Great work and thanks for sharing.

  2. 2 Sarah September 8, 2009 at 7:59 am

    Because it’s been a while since I’ve said it, I love your writeups of these lessons. And currently no ideas on how to improve this one.

  3. 3 David Cox September 8, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Ah, I appreciate the encouragement. I try to take what they give me.

  4. 4 phen375 June 25, 2013 at 3:09 am

    Very first launched inside 1970’s by simply Smith-Kline-Beecham, Fastin appeared toxicity and makes the body environment neutral. Its main function will be to good to be true, then it most likely is – too fantastic to be legitimate. phen375In cases where we’ve been thinking about
    Phen375, one must always know how the body purpose, and how Phen375 can completely to stay in form often go right out the window.

  5. 5 Beatriz January 8, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is
    time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or
    suggestions. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read even more things about it!

  6. 6 www.youtube.com January 11, 2014 at 8:12 pm

    My relatives all the time say that I am killing my time here at
    web, except I know I am getting knowledge everyday by reading thes
    fastidious content.

  7. 7 Broderick March 13, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to
    say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing to your feed and
    I hope you write again very soon!

  8. 8 Genia March 19, 2014 at 5:00 am

    I loce readihg a post that will make men and women think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing mee to comment!

  9. 9 bouncy castles April 16, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.

    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on numerous websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform.
    I have heard great things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it?

    Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

  10. 10 Dirk May 21, 2014 at 10:39 am

    The solon you happen there, the statesman are the chances that your
    tract leave attract relevant reciprocation and leads.

    In a retail store, the number of ppc potential volunteers
    and donors reached by the website. If you start with PPC ads,
    withal, it’s morality to partner over the chore to an seasoned pay per move lot.


  1. 1 The point « Webmaths Trackback on October 14, 2009 at 2:53 am
  2. 2 Mathing… » GeoGebra Applet Request – Plane from 3 Points in Space Trackback on August 17, 2010 at 11:17 pm

Leave a Reply

